D1000058

Imperfect Perfectionist

I want perfection, but I’m an imperfect perfectionist. Oh yes, I know all about that!

Imperfect perfectionists live Life through mental starts and stops, imagining that they’ll do this or participate in that. It’s a chimerical mind drug to them, planning their phantom actions ahead to the minutest detail, and yet thwarting every effort as it comes up.

Most ideas don’t ever get more than a half-baked start.

It makes it easy to criticize the actions (and non-actions) of others. I, of course, being more perfect than you, would have done it this way!

And yet, at least they are doing something — where as I end up doing nothing!

What a funny little game we play with ourselves. Our mental games.

But perhaps if I identify my foibles and tendencies here, in advance, maybe I’ll be able to STOP in the middle of my actions, go back to a more stable, mature outlook, and actually GROW UP!

Tree Face :))

~~~

Like what you’ve read here? Visit Dawn’s sister blog: Soul Horse Ride

~~___(\ ~~___(\ ~~___(\
…/< >\ …/< >\ …/< >\

~~~

Copyright 2012

7 thoughts on “Imperfect Perfectionist

  1. Ayesha

    A wonderful reflection! Thank-you for posting it here! Indeed we’re too quick in judging others without looking at our own selves first! We all sin, just differently from each other!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Eileen

    I want to commend you on jumping right into it. Very brave! You didn’t start with an introduction but you tackled a subject I empathize with all too well. I, too, am a imperfect perfectionist. You are so correct in calling our ideas and motivations “half-baked”. As such, I applaud you for sticking with writing for ELEVEN years! Very impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave an Insight